WhatsApp bug lets you delete messages even after 7 minutes
NEW DELHI: WhatsApp recently rolled out its new feature called ‘Delete for everyone’. The feature lets users delete messages after they have been sent. However, the option to delete is only visible for 7 minutes after a message has been sent. But it looks like a new-found bug lets users delete messages even after 7 minutes time period.
As reported by XDA Developers and first spotted by Androidjefe.com website, non-beta WhatsApp Android users on v2.17.395 can use the bug to delete messages after 7 minutes of sending them. What they need to do is to send the message and keep the chat window opened. Keeping it open for over 7 minutes will still show users the option to delete the message for everyone.”The delete window is interfering here, as whenever WhatsApp detects the window is open, the internal timer fails to finish and a message can be deleted whenever a user wishes to delete it,” explains the website.
We assume WhatsApp will be fixing this feature in future updates. However, for now, users can make use of it as much as they can.
A couple of days ago WhatsApp made this feature available for all the non-beta users.
How WhatsApp ‘Delete for everyone’ feature works?
If a text is sent by mistake or accidentally you can delete that message by simply long-pressing on it and choosing the ‘Delete for everyone’ option. This will delete the text from your chat thread and from the receiver’s chat thread as well. While the revoked message will be deleted from the notifications of iOS, it will show up with “This message was deleted for everyone” text on Android.
It is worth noting that both parties should have the same version of the app installed to use the feature. It also works on WhatsApp for web and the desktop app.
This is one of the major features that is not yet present in the recently launched WhatsApp Business app.