How to stop WhatsApp saving pictures to the gallery on your phone – tips and tricks for the message app

How to stop WhatsApp saving pictures to the gallery on your phone – tips and tricks for the message app

Luckily there’s a very simple way of stopping your phone automatically downloading the media and keeping your storage free.

Ever wanted to stop Whatsapp automatically downloading media on your phone? Wonder no more!

How do I stop Whatsapp saving pictures on my phone?

There are actually several easy ways to stop Whatsapp from automatically downloading messages on both Android and iPhone.

On Android, all you have to do is open the messaging app and tap the three vertical dots (Settings) on the top right.

Tap “chat settings”, then “media auto-download” and you’ll see three options – images, audio and video – which you can uncheck.

There are two ways to achieve the same outcome on iPhone.

 There are several ways to stop unwanted downloads on both Android and iPhone
There are several ways to stop unwanted downloads on both Android and iPhone

The first is to open Whatsapp, click the “settings” button in the bottom right, then “data and storage usage”.

Here you can you will see the “media auto-download” option which you can use to stop pictures downloading automatically.

You can also stop the app downloading media from individual chats.

Simply go on the desired chat, click on its title at the top and change the settings via the “save media to camera roll” option.

How to “unsend” a WhatsApp message?

There are plenty of reasons why you’d want to unsend a message: maybe you’ve drunk-texted an ex, or mistakenly called your boss something unpleasant in the work chat.

WhatsApp has been letting users “unsend” messages since October 2017 but now it may be extending the grace period from seven minutes to over an hour.

All you have to do to delete a message is hold the unwanted message down.

A menu will appear giving you the option to select “Delete for everyone” within the grace period.

While the person you sent it to will not be able to see the message, they will see a notification saying: “This message was deleted.”

You will also receive a notification if WhatsApp could not delete the message.

Source by thesun…

 

Share: